The Silk Inside A Chestnut Shell

So…the whole idea to just keep writing really didn’t get me very far but here I am again. These past few days I’ve really started to feel the first chills of autumn in the air and I always find myself thinking of my BFF Jane and her well documented love of the season.  For years I have struggled with her reasoning; I am a summer girl through and through, all about the heat and the long, long days. As soon as it starts to get cold, I seem to enter hibernation mode and all I want to do is hunker down and never leave the house. However, in somewhat of an ode to Jane, and in an attempt to not feel so miserable as the days draw in, I thought I make a list of my top 10 awesome things about Autumn.

1. New Stationery 

I’ve not been at school for a number of years but when September rolls around, I find myself searching for a reason to buy  a new notepad, pen or ringbinder. The smell of a new pencil case holds a lot of promise. I quite like this one: 

Naural linen hand printed soaring swallows birds zipped purse pouch pencil case from JeanieDeans at Etsy.

2. Boots

As much as I love the ease of throwing on a summer dress and flip-flops, there is something fantastic about pulling on a snug pair of socks and a good pair of boots and having a stomp!
I love these from Timberland:

Women’s Earthkeepers Shoreham Low Boot

3. New Season= New Wardrobe
A new season means new styles, new colours, shapes and fabrics- generally a million reasons to go shopping.

4. TV Gets Interesting Again 

Although it seems to get earlier and earlier each year, you know that as soon as Strictly Come Dancing, Downton Abbey and Dr Who are back on screens it’s the end of summer and Christmas will be here before you know it.

5. Getting Warm Again After You’ve Been Really Cold 

Walking into a nice warm house, a long hot bath, a steaming mug of tea, a roaring log fire…Toasty!

6. Hot Chocolate

With marshmallows! The perfect treat when it’s starting to get chilly out.

(source)

7. Hats, Scarves, Gloves, Mittens

Generally any knitted item that helps keep you warm. Definitely awesome.

8. Changing Nature

Perhaps, the best thing about Autumn is the change of the season itself. Frosty mornings, clear skies, beautiful golden leaves, migrating birds… Check out this fantastic guide from the BBC’s Autumn watch for Autumnal activities near you.

And take a look at the Forestry Commission’s guide to Autumn colours across England.

9. Long, Blustery Walks

The kind where the wind blows and makes your cheeks rosy, where you’re boiling hot from walking so fast whilst wearing so many clothes, your whole body feels alive as you breathe in the great gusts of fresh air…hopefully you have on a good pair of boots (see item 2) and preferably a dog, and you feel satisfyingly tired when you get home.

10.Bonfire Night

To me, this is the end of Autumn and the start of Winter. Wrapping up warm, walking in the dark to watch the fireworks, with the smell of smoke hanging in the air, sparklers, drinking mulled wine…I love it!

And most awesome of all…The Feeling Of A Fresh Start

More so than New Year’s, the 1st of September always gives me the feeling of a new beginning. I think that it’s the wind-down from the Summer, the back-to-school feeling and the physical changes of the season. I think I’ll start setting September resolutions from now on…maybe I’ll be more likely to keep them!

2 thoughts on “The Silk Inside A Chestnut Shell

  1. I would have to add one to this list: reading a good book. I feel it goes well with hot chocolate (or tea); hunkering down on a rainy, chilly Sunday afternoon with a big mug and a fabulous book. Bliss.

    Also, my birthday.

  2. Pingback: Link Love « Is That You Darling

Leave a Reply

